About Us

2022/1/4

The Embassy of Japan

255 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 9E6
Canada

Information and Culture Section: infocul@ot.mofa.go.jp

Consular Section: consul@ot.mofa.go.jp
JET Programme: jet@jetprogramme.ca

facebook Twitter Instagram
Map is displayed

Main Office

The Embassy is open Monday to Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

It is closed for all Canadian statutory holidays and for designated Japanese holidays. Please see below for the list of holiday closures. Anyone wishing to visit the Embassy should make an appointment.

The Embassy is located on Sussex Drive between the United States' Embassy and the Pearson Building which houses Global Affairs Canada. There are several landmarks close to the Embassy, including the National Gallery of Canada and the Royal Canadian Mint. The Embassy building overlooks the Ottawa River.

 

Consular Office

Monday to Friday
9:00 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
1:30 p.m.- 4:45 p.m.
The consular office is closed for all Canadian statutory holidays and for designated Japanese holidays.

Telephone: 613-241-8541

Outside of regular office hours an automated voice attendant will guide any calls. Emergencies are handled on a 24-hour basis.

 

Information and Culture Centre

Monday to Friday
9:00 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
1:30 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.
The Information and Culture Centre is closed for all Canadian statutory holidays and for designated Japanese holidays.

The Information and Culture Centre may be closed to the public on those days when special events are held at the Embassy. If you wish to use the Centre's facitlities please contact the Information and Culture Section beforehand to ensure availability.

Holiday Closures

2022

Monday, January 3 New Year's holiday
Monday, February 21 Family Day
Wednesday, February 23 Emperor's Birthday*
Monday, March 21 Vernal Equinox*
Friday, April 15 Good Friday
Monday, April 18 Easter Monday
Monday, May 23 Victoria Day
Friday, July 1 Canada Day
Monday, August 1 Civic Holiday
Monday, September 5 Labour Day
Friday, September 23 Autumnal Equinox*
Friday, September 30 National Day for Truth and Reconciliation
Monday, October 10 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 11 Remembrance Day
Wednesday, November 23 Labour Thanksgiving Day*
Monday, December 26 Boxing Day
Thursday, December 29 End of year holiday*
Friday, December 30 End of year holiday*
​* Japanese public holiday